Wellington County Police Services Board

The Wellington County Police Services Board is a five member civilian body that oversees the Wellington County OPP. The Police Services Board gets it's authority from the Police Services Act

R.S.O. 1990, CHAPTER P.15. Wellington County has a five year contract with the OPP to provide policing services.

Police Services Board Agenda and Minutes

Frequently Requested By-laws

The Police Services Act sets out who will be members of the Board. The Wellington County Police Services Board consists of:

  • The Warden George Bridge
  • Councillor Lynda White (Chair) appointed by resolution of Council
  • Jeremy Vink appointed by resolution of Council
  • Joanne Ross-Zuj appointed by resolution of Council 

The County of Wellington OPP Detachment was formed on September 8, 1999 as a result of the amalgamation of municipal police services in Fergus, Harriston and Palmerston along with the Guelph and Mount Forest Detachments of the Ontario Provincial Police. This amalgamation resulted in the OPP being responsible for providing police services for the entire County except the City of Guelph. The Wellington County Detachment of the OPP currently has operation centres in North Wellington, Centre Wellington, South Wellington. On February 4, 2014 Wellington County OPP commenced operations out of the new North Wellington operations centre located 6725 Wellington Road 109, RR1 Palmerston, ON N0G 2P0.

Please follow the link to the 2013 Wellington County OPP Detachment Business Plan for crime and enforcement statistics and an activity overview of the Wellington County OPP.