Ontario Ministry of the Environment

Looking after solid waste is a shared responsibility between the three levels of government - federal, provincial/territorial and municipal.  The provincial government, through the Ministry of the Environment (MOE), is responsible for overseeing many programmes and services, including solid waste.

Two key pieces of legislation provide SWS with direction on the management of municipal solid waste generated within the County:

  • Blue Box recycling
  • tires
  • household hazardous waste
  • electronics

The MOE issues Certificates of Approval (CofA) for all waste collection and disposal activities. Each of the County's waste facilities has its own CofA with its own set of rules and requirements established by the MOE.