Select Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Depots

Select HHW Depot buildingThese special HHW depots are located at five County waste facilities and are open year-round during operating hours - see Aberfoyle, Belwood, Elora, Harriston or Riverstown facility detail.

The only HHW materials accepted at the depots are:

  • automotive motor oil (maximum 25 litres per day)
  • automotive oil filters (maximum 5 filters per day)
  • automotive antifreeze (maximum 25 litres per day)
  • automotive motor oil and antifreeze plastic containers 
  • automotive batteries (maximum 4 batteries per day)
  • household batteries (separate rechargeable from single-use batteries, place in a clear sealable plastic bag)
  • aerosol cans (empty or containing product)
  • Propane cylinders (no larger than 30 lb. tanks)

There is no charge for this service. Simply register your drop-off of materials with the site attendant. Follow the attendant's instructions for placement of material.

Hazardous wastes generated by the Industrial, Commercial, Institutional (IC&I) and Agricultural sectors can not be accepted. For information on proper disposal requirements, contact the Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change (MOECC) at or 1-800-565-4923, or MOECC licensed hazardous waste carriers/haulers (listed in telephone books under headings such as Liquid Waste Removal and Waste Management). If you live on a farm, only the HHW materials generated from the household can be accepted.

More options on disposal locations are available on the Make The Drop website.