County of Wellington Introduces Community Safety Zones

Posted On Monday May 16, 2022

WELLINGTON COUNTY – Today, the County of Wellington officially introduced nine Community Safety Zones (CSZs) across Wellington County.

CSZs are sections of roadways where public safety is of special concern, and speeding fines are doubled. The roadways are marked by signs and given a special designation under the Highway Traffic Act to increase fines associated with speeding. The newly established CSZs aim to modify driver behaviour and enhance public safety by encouraging slower speeds.

“Throughout the development of the County’s Road Master Action Plan the community was encouraged to engage and share their concerns,” said Warden Kelly Linton. “Continued excessive speeding was identified as an area of concern during this process. Doubling speeding fines in Community Safety Zones should help to deter dangerous driving.”

In consultation with Dillion Consulting, the County evaluated 48 urban road segments throughout Wellington County. A comprehensive risk factor scoring system was used to determine which roadways were suitable for a CSZ designation. The scoring system and methodology used for the CSZ assessment is outlined in the Council-approved Speed Management Guidelines.

Community Safety Zone locations:

  • Fergus (Township of Centre Wellington): Wellington Road 18 (Belsyde Avenue E) from Highway 6 (Tower Street S) to McTavish Street
  • Elora (Township of Centre Wellington): Wellington Road 18 (East Mill Street) from Chapel Street to Kertland Street
  • Elora (Township of Centre Wellington): Wellington Road 7 from Wellington Road 21 (McNab Street) to Speers Road
  • Hillsburgh (Town of Erin): Wellington Road 24 (Trafalgar Road) from Church Street to 75 metres north of Jane Street
  • Erin (Town of Erin): Wellington Road 124 (Main Street) from East Church Street to Millwood Road
  • Drayton (Township of Mapleton): Wellington Road 11 (Wellington Street S) from Andrews Drive to Spring Street
  • Palmertson (Town of Minto): Wellington Road 123 (Main Street) from Henry Street to York Street
  • Aberfoyle (Township of Puslinch): Wellington Road 46 (Brock Road S) from 225 metres north of Old Brock Road to 300 metres south of Old Brock Road
  • Mount Forest (Township of Wellington North): Wellington Road 6 (Sligo Road E) from 50 metres west of Church Street North to 125 metres west of London Road North

“The Wellington County Ontario Provincial Police are dedicated to making Wellington County roadways safe for all who use them. Designating an area of roadway as a Community Safety Zone allows for the doubling of speeding fines and is meant to encourage slower speeds and improve safety in these areas where public safety is of special concern,” said Acting Wellington County OPP Inspector Steve Thomas. “These new community safety zones are an excellent example of the collaborative efforts between police and community partners. Safety on our roadways is a top priority for the Wellington County OPP, and the implementation of these new community safety zones is yet another tool we can use to work towards that goal.”

“During the development of Road Master Action Plan, we asked for feedback from our residents, we listened to their concerns and we’ve taken action,” commented Andy Lennox, Roads Committee Chair. “The County of Wellington and Wellington County OPP will continue to work together to keep our roads safe.”

More information about Community Safety Zones in Wellington County is available at


Media Contact:
Don Kudo, County Engineer
T 519.837.2600 x 2280

© 2023 County of Wellington, 74 Woolwich St. Guelph, Ontario N1H 3T9, T 519.837.2600, TF 1.800.663.0750, F 519.837.1909