Archival Research Guides

The following guides serve as a starting point for researchers. A visit to our facility is recommended to view original records and for more extensive research.

Original Wellington County Municipalities
  • Arthur
  • Arthur Township
  • Clifford
  • Drayton
  • Elora
  • Eramosa Township
  • Erin
  • Erin Township
  • Fergus
  • Guelph Township
  • Maryborough Township
  • Minto Township
  • Mount Forest
  • Nichol Township
  • Palmerston
  • Peel Township
  • Pilkington Township
  • Puslinch Township
  • West Garafraxa Township
  • West Luther Township
Current Wellington County Municipalities
  • Town of Erin
  • Township of Wellington North
  • Town of Minto
  • Township of Puslinch
  • Mapleton Township
  • Township of Centre Wellington
 Archival Research Guides and Indexes

Archival Collection

  • Over 90,000 photographs, postcards, slides
  • Over 3000 maps and plans
  • Over 900 family history files
  • Cemetery tombstone transcriptions
  • Manuscripts - diaries, letters, scrapbooks
  • Business and club records including the Beatty Bros. fonds
  • Farmers, business and telephone directories
  • County atlas, 1877, 1906
  • County wills index, 1840-1931
  • Municipal records: designated repository for the Municipal and Records generated by Wellington County member municipalities; consisting of minute books, by-laws, tax assessment and collectors rolls, and voters lists.
  • Land Abstract Indexes (property ownership from first settlement)
  • Census for Wellington County, 1851 (no Erin Twp. or Guelph), 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891 (no Maryborough Twp.), 1901, 1911, 1921.
  • Ontario Vital Statistics indexes: births (1869-1914), marriages  (1869-1929), deaths (1869-1939)
  • Upper Grand District School Board records relating to one room schools
  • Women's Institute records; Tweedsmuir Histories
  • Couling Collection: architectural inventories, photographs and 13,000 slides documenting significant architectural structures in Guelph and Wellington County.


Map of the original and current Member Municipalities

This is an interactive rollover map, move your cursor over the map to see the original 21 Municipalities of Wellington County.

map of Wellington County

Link to Explore Wellington Mapping


© 2023 County of Wellington, 74 Woolwich St. Guelph, Ontario N1H 3T9, T 519.837.2600, TF 1.800.663.0750, F 519.837.1909