Who Does What

There are four levels of government in Wellington County, each with their own set of responsibilities and services. All elected officials, regardless of what level of government they are voted into, are entrusted with the responsibility of making decisions that affect the day-to-day lives of those living in Canada.

A statue of a cannon and flagpole with the canadian flag in front of a local city hall building.

Municipal Town or Township

Represented by your Town Councillors and Mayor who also represents you at the County level. Responsible for representing the interests of cities and towns.

County of Wellington Administration Building with green vines climbing the stone.

County of Wellington

Represented by your County Councillors, Warden, and Town Mayors. Responsible for sharing the responsibilities for services with our member municipalities.

Queen's Park main building

Provincial-Ontario Government

Led by the Premier of Ontario and represented by your Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP). Responsible for regional issues.

Canadian Parliament building in Ottawa, Ontario.

Federal - Government of Canada

Led by the Prime Minister and represented by your Member of Parliament (MP). Responsible for national and international issues.