The County of Wellington is located in south-western Ontario just over 100 kilometres west of Toronto along Highway 401. The County is made up of seven member municipalities including the Town of Erin, Town of Minto, Township of Wellington North, Township of Mapleton, Township of Centre Wellington, Township of Guelph/Eramosa and the Township of Puslinch.

The County is responsible for providing a number of services including operating a long-term care home, libraries, the museum and archives, maintaining county roads, managing solid waste services including waste collection and landfills, and planning and development services including the Green Legacy tree planting programme. In addition, the County of Wellington provides a number of social services to the residents of Wellington County and the City of Guelph such as childcare, subsidized housing, and income support programmes.

The County oversees a budget of $213.5 million and employs over 900 people.

The County of Wellington has a vibrant economy and an active economic development office that promotes the dynamic industries of the County. The key industries in Wellington County are manufacturing, agriculture, health care and the creative economy.  There are a number of local festivals and events that happen all year round in the County in addition to the other many sites and activities that residents and visitors alike can enjoy